Coronavirus: As our business is based in a rural area and we are able to maintain safe working distances in our factory & office, we are open for business and our product despatches are within normal time frames. We will update this message as anything changes.

Shakespear Street - a Memory of Ardwick.

Hi my name is Barrie George. I was born on Shakespear Street and went to Ross Place Jnr School and then Stanley Grove Boys School. Moved to Lamb Street behind Chiappies chippy. My best mates where Maurice Shaw and Tony Perisllie. I have good memories of Ardwick, ralivo, kingy, games we played on what always seemed to be warm summer evenings, neighbours looking out for you. My mam used to recall a story of when I was about 5yrs old and went missing. A neighbor found me in tip-top bakery playing in the flour and took me home. Shakespear Street to Swinton Grove ...some treck for a 5yr old.

A memory shared by Barrie George on Nov 2nd, 2012. Send Barrie George a message

 Comments & Feedback

Wed Feb 4th 2015, at 5:01 pm
alison.crush commented:
Hi Barrie,
Would you like to come to our next Ardwick Heritage Tea Party on Saturday 14th February 2015 at St Thomas Centre (formally St Thomas' Church).
If you are interested please call me on 0161 277 1022.
Many thanks,
Alison Crush

Add your comment

You must be signed-in to your Frith account to post a comment.

or Register to post a Comment.

Sparked a Memory for you?

If this has sparked a memory, why not share it here?

Tips & Ideas

Not sure what to write? It's easy - just think of an important place in your life and ask yourself:

  • How does it feature in your personal history?
  • What are your best memories of this place?
  • How has it changed over the years?
  • How does it feel, seeing these places again?
  • Do you remember stories about the community, its history and people?

This week's Places

Here are some of the places people are talking about in our Share Your Memories community this week:

...and hundreds more! Enjoy browsing more recent contributions now.