The King’s House in Salisbury Cathedral Close was a teacher training college when this view was taken in 1928 and now houses the Salisbury and South Wiltshire Museum, but on 2nd November 1483 it was where King Richard III was lodging when he had Henry Stafford, 2nd Duke of Buckingham beheaded in Salisbury’s Market Square for treason – afterwards, Buckingham’s head was brought there for King Richard to see. Before his execution the Duke was imprisoned in the Blue Boar Inn, which stood on the site occupied by the Style and Gerrish’s department store in Blue Boar Row the 1950s view below, which is now occupied by the Debenhams department store – and his ghost is said to haunt the store to this day. One of the treasures of the museum is the Salisbury Giant. He stands over 12ft (3.66m) tall and is a unique survival of life in the medieval city, when he was paraded in the streets by the Salisbury Guild of Tailors as a pageant figure during their annual celebration on the eve of the feast of St John (Midsummer’s Day). In later times the Giant was also paraded through the city on occasions of public celebration, such as coronations or jubilees. He passed to the museum in 1873 and was still taken out for public celebrations until 1979 when he was ‘retired’. He now forms the centrepiece of the Salisbury gallery of the museum, accompanied by his companion, the Hob-Nob, a mischievous hobby-horse character who cavorted in front in the procession clearing the way for the Giant.